Regional Planning Affiliation 18 (RPA-18)

The State of Iowa has 18 Regional Planning Affiliations (RPAs) that provide transportation planning on a regional level outside the urbanized areas.  RPA-18 is comprised of Harrison, Mills, Shelby, and the non-urbanized portion of Pottawattamie County in southwest Iowa. MAPA serves as the RPA facilitator for RPA-18. This planning work includes the development and maintenance of the RPA's Long Range Transportation Plan, Regional TIP, other Iowa DOT requirements, as well as professional and administrative services for the RPA. The RPA-18 Board has separate Policy and Technical Committees, comprised of representatives from each county (Harrison, Mills, Pottawattamie and Shelby) and each city with a population greater than 5,000 (currently the city of Glenwood). The Southwest Iowa Transit Agency (SWITA) and the Iowa DOT are also represented on the Technical Committee.

pdf RPA-18 2035 Long Range Transportation Plan - January 2014

Regional Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP)

The Regional Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP) provides a detailed listing of the regionally significant transportation projects occurring within the region. The current RTIP is fiscally constrained for Fiscal Years 2015-2018. The FY2015 Regional Transportation Improvement Program took effect on October 1, 2014.

pdf Final RPA-18 FY2015 Transportation Improvement Program - June 2014

Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP)

Applications are being accepted for Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) projects until 4:30pm on January 5, 2015. If you have questions about the TA program or your project's eligibility, please contact Mike Helgerson at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

doc FY2015 RPA-18 Transportation Alternatives Program Application